Home About Us Ministries Preschool Staff Organizations


Trinity Lutheran Church

1010 Fleming St
Garden City, KS 67846

Trinity Lutheran Church was officially accepted into membership of the Kansas District, Lutheran Church, Missouri Synod in 1922. Prior to that Rev. Robert Heike Jr. from Lydia served Garden City as a Mission Station. Eleven pastors have served the congregation since its humble beginnings. Three different sites have served as its home. The current site, 1010 Fleming, was developed in 1970. Over the years, the congregation has grown with the community. A Preschool was added in 1984. It currently serves 34 three and four year olds. We rejoice that through the Spirit more than a dozen sons and daughters of the congregation have studied to be professional church workers.

While we are currently in vacancy, awaiting a new pastor, the congregation of 600 baptized members is served by two Directors of Christian Education, and two Preschool teachers. Together we seek to be a Missionpost in southwest Kansas seeking to help people
‘Know Christ – Share Christ.’


Know Christ - Share Christ



To create a 21st century mission post in southwest Kansas where people of all ages are touched by the love of Jesus in dynamic worship, Bible study and fellowship;
A mission post where persistent efforts will be made to equip disciples, using every resource the Spirit make available, to share Christ with everyone.
Mission Minded
Inspired to use spiritual gifts
Serving in love
Seeking the lost
Integrating all members
Ongoing education for all
Nurturing family environment
Praying priesthood
Opportunities for giving/receiving God's grace
Scripturally focused
Touched by Christ's love

Seasons of The Church

  1. ADVENT:
    1. Advent is a Latin term which means "coming". It is the first season of the church year, beginning with the fourth Sunday before Christmas. Advent is a period of preparation for the coming of our Lord at Christmas and at the end of time. Some also celebrate the coming of our Lord through Word and Sacrement. Advent ends at Christmas.
    2. Often, churches use Advent candles. One is lighted each week in anticipation of the coming of the light of the world. Some name the candles: Prophecy, Bethlehem, Shepard's, and Angel's candles.
    3. The traditional liturgical color for Advent is purple, symbolizing repentance and mourning. Recently, some churches have begun to use the color blue during Advent, symbolizing hope.
    1. The celebration of the birth of our Lord begins on December 25. It continues until January 6. Many churches introduce a Christ candle in the midst of the Advent candles. The liturgical color is white, symbolizing purity.
    1. Epiphany is a Greek term meaning "to show forth". This season begins on January 6 and commemorates the showing forth of the Infant Jesus to the Wise Men, the first Gentiles to worship Jesus. Depending on the date of Easter, there may be as many as six or as few as one Sunday in the Epiphany season. The liturgical color is green, standing for life and growth.
  4. LENT:
    1. Lent is a penitential season with special services to commemorate the suffering and death of Jesus. It begins on Ash Wednesday, a movable date, and continues for forty days until Easter. The fifth week of Lent is called Passion Week. The Sixth Week of Lent is called Holy Week. The liturgical color is purple, signifying repentance. The term "lent" probably comes from the Old English term for "spring".
    2. Maundy Thursday is the Thursday of Holy Week. It commemorates the washing of the disciples' feet and the institution of the Lord's Supper.
    3. Good Friday is the Friday of Holy Week. It observes the suffering and death of Jesus. The liturgical color is black, signifying mourning and death.
    4. Palm Sunday is the sixth Sunday in Lent, the first day of Holy Week. It commemorates the triumphal entry of Christ into Jerusalem. It often is a mini-celebration in the midst of this penitential season. It's liturgical color, however is still purple.
  5. EASTER:
    1. Easter is a name from an English pagan spring festival. It commemorates the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. It's date is varible, and all other movable feasts are dependant on it. Easter occurs the first Sunday after the first full moon after the vernal equinox, March 21<SUPST< SUP>. The liturgical color for Easter is white.
    2. The Ascension of our Lord is celebrated 40 days after Easter. This celebration falls on a Thursday.
    3. The Easter season lasts seven Sundays and then concludes with the festival of Pentecost on the eighth Sunday.
    1. Pentecost is the Greek word for "fiftieth". Pentecost occurs 50 days after Easter. This Sunday is also known as Whitsunday (traditionally the Sunday when confirmands were robed in white). Pentecost celebrates the birth of the New Testament Church as Peter and the other apostles were annointed with the Holy Spirit and preached in tongues. The liturgical color for this occasion is red, symbolizing love and zeal.
    2. The church year from Advent through Pentecost is called the festival portion of the church year. The rest of the year is known as the non-festival.
  7. The Time of the Church:
  8. The season after Pentecost. This season has no major festivals. It's first Sunday called Trinity Sunday. White is used on Trinity Sunday. The rest of the Pentecost season, which can last up to 28 weeks, uses the liturgical color of green.